Selling Those Cookies……Girl Scout Cookie Signs

It is that time again……Girl Scout Cookies!!

I have a bit of a love / hate relationship with cookie time……I LOVE eating them but hate that I have zero self control and can eat 1/2 a box in 30 minutes.  I hate most of the work selling/delivering them but LOVE seeing how excited my daughter gets when she makes a sale (which was not always the case)……Last year my little Daisy Scout was not thrilled about the whole selling cookie thing…….

1623723_10202568480965513_693327651_n

This year she is ready to go…..made herself a goal and is excited to meet that goal.

We are planning on heading out into the cold temps and snow early next week to sell in our neighborhood so we needed something to fit over her coat since it will be hiding her uniform.  I want those peeking through their blinds deciding whether or not they want to answer the door to know what she is selling. (Come on we all know that these cookies sell themselves and normally the door opens for cookies….before I had a Girl Scout I was just hoping one would stop buy so I could get the hookup).

I had seen on Pinterest where girls were wearing signs, so while tooling around the craft store I saw some cake boards and put my plan into action.

Project List:

  • Enlarged Pictures of the Cookies
  • Markers
  • 12 inch Cake Boards (2 for each sign)
  • String or Yarn
  • Something sharp to poke holes in your Cake Board
  • Copy Paper
  • Glue or Tape

So I started by taking pictures of the cookies off of the order form with my phone.  I called the local copy store and asked them if I could email them the pictures and have them enlarged to 12 inches in diameter. (The copy store is an awesome place to make friends with…..they help me with a lot of my hair-brained project ideas and it is normally super cheap.)

IMG_0827

The cake boards I purchased have some sort of shiny coating that was not working with markers so I took some white copy paper and wrote the name of each cookie using each cookies traditional color.  Next pasted the copy paper to my cake board and then pasted my cookie on…..front board was finished!!

IMG_0834

On to the back board…..so the original idea was to have a cookie on the front sign and the back sign but I forgot to tell them I needed 2 copies so I had to figure something out for the back board.  After some thought and looking at the order form I see where they now give you different ideas on the form as to what you can do with the cookies……..So that is where EAT ‘EM, FREEZE ‘EM and GIFT ‘EM was born.  Again took white copy paper and wrote my tag line with marker and pasted the paper to the cake board.

IMG_0835

Once the boards were done it was time to put them together.  I grabbed some yarn and something to poke a hole in the cake boards (I used a bamboo kabob stick).  I poked holes in the boards and tied the yarn to the first board and grabbed my daughter to measure, then tied the back board on.  I made one for each of the traditional cookies…….thinking maybe the girls can also wear them when we do our cookie booth later.

IMG_0838

I know there are a lot of parents/leaders helping their girls sell so if you need an idea this was an in expensive and easy way to go and the older girls can do these practically on their own with the right tools 🙂

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

