Halloween Party Fun

I had the opportunity to organize my very first children’s Halloween Party this year for my daughter’s Daisy Scout troop.

I was a bit nervous and excited……this being the first party I have organized for someone other than my kid’s

First thing I wanted to take care of were the games/entertainment…….I hit up Pinterest first to see what was out there.  The first kid’s activity that caught my eye was the “Poke a Pumpkin” game.  This activity was all over Pinterest and looked super fun and easy to put together.

Poke a Pumpkin Project List:

  • Heavy Cardboard
  • Orange Plastic Cups
  • Gorilla Glue
  • Orange Tissue Paper
  • Rubber Bands
  • Treats to fill the cups
  • Markers
  • Copy Paper
  • Scissors
  • Glue Stick

I started by gluing the cups to the cardboard in the shape of a pumpkin.

IMG_9401

Once the glue is dried fill the cups with treats (I filled mine with spider rings and candies) then cover the top of the cup with orange tissue paper secured to the cup with a rubber band.

I then made a stem and leaves on a piece of copy paper, cut them out and glued them to the board.

IMG_9662

The kids take turns poking the pumpkin and they get to keep whatever treats they can find.

For Game #2 I had seen a witch hat ring toss game that I liked when doing research.  But when I started putting it together my daughter had other ideas for a “Find the Frog” game which I thought was even better.

Find the Frog Project List:

  • 2 Poster Board Sheets
  • Black Paint
  • Colored Paper
  • Scissors
  • Markers
  • Plastic Frogs
  • Stapler
  • Glue Sticks

I started by cutting rectangles (the size of a comic book) from one of the poster board sheets (5 are needed).  I then folded them into a cone shape and stapled them into place.  Once I had all of my hat tops made I spray painted them with black paint.

While waiting for my hat tops to dry I started working on my game board.  First I made 5 black circles on the board as the hat bottoms.  These circles need to be about an inch or two in diameter bigger than the hat tops.  I then drew a few frogs on some green paper and cut/pasted them to the board as decoration.  once the hat tops were dried I pasted a buckle to each of them.

IMG_9151

To play the game, you place a frog under a couple of the hats.  The kids take turns trying to find the frogs.  If they find a frog they win a prize……or the frog if you have enough.

The third and final game I came up with on my own.  It is called Tricks or Treats.

Tricks or Treats Project List:

  • Poster Board
  • Paper Lunch Bags
  • Glue Stick
  • Markers or Paints
  • Scissors
  • Treats
  • A pebble or something small for the kids to throw into the bag

I started by cutting down the paper lunch bags.  I took about 5 inches off of the top of all of the bags.  I then painted different spooky words on the bags.  once they were dried I glued them to the poster board.  To creep up the board a bit I also made some spiders to glue onto the game board.  I then put treats into some of the bags and tricks in others (a piece of paper that says “TRICK”….however after the fact I later thought about putting a silly joke on the trick papers….maybe next time)

IMG_9414

The kids stand back from the game board and try to toss the pebble into the bags.  If they get the pebble into the bag they get whatever is in it.  It can be a “Trick” or a “Treat”

Once the games were done it was time to work on the decorations.  I found the coolest paper candy corn banner tutorial from “The Pin Junkie” and had to make it.

Candy Corn Banner Project List:

  • Paper Plates
  • Orange and Yellow Paints
  • Paint Brush
  • Yarn
  • Hole Punch

I started by painting orange around the lip of the plate and then a yellow circle next to the orange. (I recommend all white plates to do this project, mine had designs on them because I was using what I had on hand.)

IMG_9131

After drying I cut them into triangles and had a bunch of candy corns……

IMG_9140

After I had my candy corns cut out I punched two holes in the top of each corn and then threaded my yarn through them.

IMG_9145

For my next decoration I made “Little Jacks”

Little Jacks Project List:

  • Mandarin Oranges
  • Black Marker

Take a marker and draw jack o lantern faces on them……super easy to make and the kids can take them home.

IMG_9644

Since the other Moms were bringing the food the only thing I had left to figure out were the drinks.  I thought about putting out a punch bowl and making spooky punch but the thought of how messy that was going to be changed my mind.  I took the easy route and bought some big bottles of Hawaiian Punch and gave them a new label with creepy names.  My daughter named the blue punch all on her own

IMG_9642

The party was a success.  The girls all seemed to have had a good time.  I can’t wait for the opportunity to plan another party for the troop.  We have talked about doing a tea party in the spring……I can’t wait!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

