A Two (and a half) -Year-Old Joker

My son is a Superhero fanatic.  However lately he has been a bit obsessed with The Joker.  I can’t blame him…..The Joker is colorful, has lots of cool toys and seems like a happy enough guy.  Of course the only real exposure my son has had to him is in the Lego cartoons or else I am sure he would find him quite scary.

IMG_8183

I had been asking him for the past month who he wanted to dress as for Halloween and 8 times out of 10 he would say “I Joker”.  This worked out perfectly since my daughter had decided on Harley Quinn early in the year (she changed her mind 50 or so times but we came back to Harley in the end).

So the search for a white or purple suit began…….

Who knew finding a purple suit for a two-year-old would be so difficult?

After hitting up all of the local thrift shops and children’s resale shops I had to turn to the internet shops.  I found a $20 all white suit complete with tie and I jumped on it!

In the days leading up to the arrival of this awesome white suit I purchased green, orange and purple dye and was ready to go.  When the suit arrived I read the instructions for the dye and was disappointed to find out that it was recommended that it NOT be used for polyester and of course the suit was 100% polyester.  I dyed it anyway……

Well……the suit turned out pink and the undershirt was….well honestly I can’t even describe what color it turned out…….it was like a dirty light green.

Well back to the craft store……I found some awesome fabric spray paint (I had no idea this stuff existed).  I went to town spray painting the suit.  Unfortunately for me the fabric spray did not go very far…….six $5.99 cans later I had the most expensive costume I have ever made……

However the look on my son’s face when he saw his Joker costume was money well spent……..

IMG_9451

and another picture of the happy Joker…….

IMG_9447

A little green hair, green eyebrows and some red lips and we have our finished Joker (with Harley Quinn)……

IMG_9527

The hard part was getting him to take the costume off…….and he wouldn’t answer to anything but Joker.

Joker sliming a couple of superheroes…….

IMG_9637

We have a couple of opportunities left for the kids to wear their costumes before the end of the week and then we can start planning for next year……..

So far my daughter has Teen Titans on her mind…….she is thinking Raven for her and Beast Boy for her little brother.

I am sure she will change her mind several times but I like where her head is at!!

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

