Checker Board Table and Peg People Battles

This summer I had planned on getting up early and hitting garage sales for some furniture to make over.  Every time I got motivated enough to hit some sales it was well after 2pm and we all know only the crap is left after that time.

So, one day I decided to take a trip to the thrift shop instead.  It had been YEARS since I had been to a thrift shop and I was floored at how much furniture they carry (who needs garage sales).  I picked up 2 small tables for CHEAP and was on my way.

My new $6.99 table………

Checker Board Table 0

The first table I picked up that day I made into a Lego table (shocker!).  This 2nd one I decided to make into a game table.

My Project List:

  • Chalkboard Paint
  • Spray Paint
  • Sandpaper
  • Painter’s Tape
  • Newspaper

I thought checkerboard…..easy peasy right?

Checker Board Table 5

No!  Not easy!  I taped and retaped and painted this thing about 4 times!!  The 4 times is not counting the 2 times that you have to retape it anyway to get the checkerboard pattern…….so it was more like 8 times.

If I actually measured things and didn’t just eyeball them, I am sure this would have been 10 times easier.  Measuring is definitely something that I could stand to work on…….but I am not that patient and this is just for fun anyway 🙂

Well this is the end result of the table……..

Checker board table 3

Not perfect, but it will do 🙂

Now to make some game pieces.  We decided to do peg people battles.

First up is my daughter’s favorite, Plants vs. Zombies………

Plants vs Zombies Checker Pegs

Next we have the Zombies vs. Gentlemen……………

Zombies vs Gentlemen Checker Pegs

And lastly we have Ninjas…………….

Ninjas Checker Pegs

I painted a few spools to use as “King Me Pedestals” also.

Here is the board all ready to go, plus an extra Zombie that wondered on the playing field. (Yes, I know this is not regulation checkers….too many rows in the middle and only room for 11 and not 12 pieces)……..

Checker board table 2

I painted the black with chalkboard paint in order to have a spot to keep score.

Now it was time to teach my 6-year-old how to play checkers…….

Checker board table 1

This MAY have been almost as challenging as painting the table.  She is not exactly a good sport.  There were tears every time I took one of her guys and shouts of “in your face” when she took mine.  With time that will change……I hope.

Until next time……..

 

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

