Oat Cakes – Healthy Breakfast on the GO!!

Oat Cakes Healthy Clean Eating Breakfast

I have always struggled eating a good breakfast.  I would rather sleep in those extra few minutes than wake up and make something for breakfast.

A few months ago I stumbled upon a recipe from Eating Well magazine for Oat Cakes that interested me.  I changed it up a bit to make it just a tad healthier and efficient.  These Oat Cakes have gotten me through many mornings thus far.  I normally make a batch of these on Sunday and take 2 to work every morning for breakfast, they really do the trick.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups coconut milk (skim milk can be substituted)
  • 1/3 cup agave syrup (maple syrup can be substituted)
  • 2 tbsp. canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla or vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup pecans

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Mix the oats and the milk in a large mixing bowl (let sit for about 5 min or so to allow the oats to soak up some of the milk).

In a small bowl, mix the egg, agave, vanilla, oil, cinnamon, baking powder and salt and then pour into the oat/milk mixture.

Mix until ingredients are combined.

Evenly divide the mixture into 12 cupcake wrappers…….

IMG_8095

Top the mixture with the blueberries and pecans (slightly pressing them down)……..

IMG_8097

Bake for 25 minutes…….

IMG_8098

I allow them to cool for about 20 minutes and then pop them into a gallon plastic bag.

IMG_8099

I keep them in the fridge all week and pull out 2 every morning to take to work.  If I end up having some left around day 5 I will put them in the freezer.  I have kept them in the freezer as long as 2 weeks and they have been perfect.

I recommend microwaving them for 30 seconds before eating or 50 seconds if frozen before eating.  They are SUPER yummy!!

Since I make these every week I do switch it up a bit here and there.

Below are some of the different combinations I have used instead of blueberries and pecans:

  • Blueberries and almonds
  • Strawberries and walnuts
  • Raspberries and almonds
  • Strawberries and orange zest (I also substituted 1/4 cup of the milk with orange juice)
  • Apples and raisins

There are so many yummy combinations that can be used.

I am sure the kiddos can be tricked into eating a healthy breakfast under the guise of these being presented as cupcakes or muffins??  Maybe??

Who knows because I normally eat them all myself 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

