Ode to 80’s Cinema Presents….an Alien, a Mermaid and a Gopher

The 80’s movies in this post really have nothing in common except that they are all totally AWESOME!

Let’s start with one of the most lovable alien’s to ever hit the movie screen…….E.T.

I am not embarrassed to say that this movie still makes me cry like a baby, even though I know how it ends.  It really is a fantastic movie.  This is one that I look forward to watching with my kids.  Honestly I am not sure why my 6-year-old has not seen this yet….looks like we have some movie watching to do this weekend 🙂

Below we have E.T. and Elliot…….

IMG_8002

It took me a minute to figure out how in the world I was going to make E.T.  I ended up cutting the head off of a mini peg person (I felt kind of weird doing this….).  Then I grabbed some of my kid’s play-doh and wrapped it around the head I cut off of the peg person, shaping it like E.T’s head.  I cut a toothpick and wrapped play-doh around it for the neck.  I figured that the toothpick would give it some support.  The arm is foam and of course I used my hot glue gun to glue all of the pieces together.  I was worried that the play-doh would crack and fall apart when it dried but it has held up for 2 days now, so I guess it worked (I doubt it can be played with by the kids but it is holding up just fine on a shelf).

Next up is another great movie that is a slight tear jerker……..Splash!

Below we have Allen and Madison…………

Splash peg people

Splash was originally not on my list as I totally forgot about it, but my husband brought it up the other night and I immediately wanted to make them.  I have a feeling that my list is just going to keep growing……..

So finally, a movie that was at the TOP of my list……..Caddyshack!!

This is an absolutely FANTASTIC movie.

below we have Judge Smails, Al, Ty, Carl and the Gopher………….

Caddyshack peg people

Even though the movie is not quite kid appropriate, I pulled up a couple of videos online of the gopher dancing to Kenny Logins and Carl trying to get him and my kids loved it.

Sandy: I want you to kill every gopher on the course!

Carl: Check me if I am wrong Sandy, but if I kill all the golfers, they’re gonna lock me up and throw away the key….

Sandy: Gophers, ya great git!  The gophers!  The little brown furry rodents!

Carl: We can do that; we don’t even have to have a reason.

More Ode to 80’s Cinema to come……..

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

