Captain America Table

So recently my 2-year-old has had a major obsession with Captain America, aka “Cap Merica”.  I just so happened to have a small table that I saved from being thrown out from our last family garage sale and figured that I could give it a little “Cap Merica” makeover.

The table in question…….

IMG_7761

My project list:

  • Captain America Comics
  • Copy Paper
  • Acrylic Paint
  • Spray Paint
  • Mod Podge
  • Circle Maker (not sure what the official term is)
  • Painter’s Tape
  • Newspaper
  • Paint Brushes
  • Scissors

I started by spray painting the entire table blue.  I should have sanded it down but didn’t……I did this one on a whim 🙂

My blue table…….

IMG_7894

I then took my scissors and cut up a perfectly good Captain America comic…….made a pile of good pictures and then the meh pictures.

Then it was time for my favorite part…..mod podge!!

I put a layer of mod podge on a section of the table and put down my first layer of comics (the meh ones)………

IMG_7896

Then it was time for the good pictures.  After putting another layer of mod podge on the table I started laying my good pictures on top……

IMG_7898

Then it was time to cover the table in mod podge……

IMG_7901

Next I wanted to make Captain America’s shield for the center of the table.

I pulled out my circle cutter (not sure what the official term is) and cut out a circle from a piece of copy paper……..

IMG_7895

Once I had my circle cut out, I painted it with acrylic paints to look like Captain America’s shield……..

IMG_7902

I mod podged the shield to the center of the table.  At this point my son was going crazy trying to touch the table and yelling, “Cap Merica! Cap Merica!”  Needless to say the table had to spend the night in the garage drying to keep him from touching.

The next morning I taped up the top of the table and the legs and spray painted the edges of the table red……….

IMG_7908

Now reveal time!!

My son’s new “Cap Merica” table……..

Captain America Table

Not bad for a table that was heading to the garbage.  He is thrilled and now he has another place to play with his superheroes.

Here is my son checking out his new table……….

Thank you for stopping by.

More table makeovers to come……..

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

