Ode to 80’s Cinema Presents “Heathers”

I had meant this post to have a few movies featured but I got caught up in the props for this movie that took me off task.

When I think of 80’s cinema Heathers is high on the list.  I believe this movie also may hold the record in number of shoulder pads ever featured in one scene……and that is just one of the many reasons it is a classic!

Besides shoulder pads and a young Christian Slater, croquet is a memorable part of this movie.  I believe I might be the only one (besides the Heathers) that actually like this game.  I have a set myself and no one ever wants to play, but I digress…….

Here are the props that took me off task (the green ball rolled out of the picture)……

IMG_7618

I used a piece of foam paper for the grass.  I cut a few pieces of wire and painted them white for the wickets, then hot glued them to the foam.  The balls are beads I confiscated from my 6 year-old and the mallets are painted sucker sticks with mini wooden spindles hot glued to them. I used what I had on hand so the mallets are a bit big for the set……but the balls do fit through the wickets so I will consider it a partial success!

Here are my completed peg people………

IMG_7627

Above we have JD, Veronica, Heather, Heather and Heather.

I couldn’t help myself and had to take a picture of them “playing” and of course Heather is sending Heather out……..

Heather Duke: [playing croquet] So what are you gonna do Heather? Take two shots or send me out?

Heather Chandler: Did you have a brain tumor for breakfast? First you ask if you can be red, knowing that I’m always red.

[puts her croquet ball against Heather’s and sends it flying]

IMG_7630

These characters were fun to create.  I now want to watch Heathers and play a game of croquet.  I doubt I can talk my husband into either………

Stay tuned for more 80’s Cinema Pegs………

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

