Ode to 80’s Cinema Peg Style – Part 1

I love peg people.  I love 80’s movies.

Time to combine two of my favorite things!!!!

I was 11 years old in 1989 so it is safe to say most of the really good 80’s movies I probably saw on HBO several years after they were released.   However, I do specifically remember renting Dirty Dancing and Desperately Seeking Susan over and over again (I may have had them both memorized as a kid).  I also had a VHS copy of Weird Science taped off of HBO that got completely wore out!!

I am not sure what it is about movies from the 80’s but I loved them way back and I still love them now.

I made a list of 30 or so 80’s movies that I want to pay tribute to with peg people (I am a lefty so excuse the handwriting)…….

IMG_7616

I am not sure if I will completely stick to the list as I already nixed two from the 70’s, so only time will tell……

Now down to business…….

For my first “Ode to 80’s Cinema” installment I have recreated characters from Ferris Buller’s Day Off, Beetlejuice and Star Wars.

I will admit, the only Star Wars movie I ever saw growing up was Return of the Jedi.  My husband however is a HUGE fan of them all.  Needless to say I have now seen them all (numerous times) in my adult life.  My kids have also seen them and are partial to the dark side……they both love Vader or “Bader” as my son calls him.

Below is my tribute to the great Star Wars……

Facebook-20140727-020627

We have Vader, R2-D2, C3P0, Leia, Yoda, Luke, Han and Chewy above.

Beetlejuice was one of my favorite movies growing up.  I absolutely love the scene when they are all singing and dancing to the Banana Boat Song at dinner and of course the end when Lydia gets to do her little dance.

I just introduced my 6 year-old daughter to this movie and she loved it!!  It is so fun getting to watch these movies over with someone who has never seen them.

Facebook-20140727-020322

Above we have Mrs. and Mr. Maitland, Beetlejuice, Lydia Deetz and Mrs. and Mr. Deetz.

Finally for this post we have Ferris Buller’s Day Off…….

IMG_7614

Above is Mr. Rooney, Sloan, Ferris and Cameron.

I just love the thought of a normal boring day turning into an absolute adventure.  Making the Ferris Pegs really made me want to watch this movie again.

I hope you enjoyed my first installment of Ode to 80’s Cinema.  There are plenty of installments to come.

If there is a movie that you would like to see in one of my next posts please comment below.

 

2 responses »

  1. Hey! Nice list! How about Fast Times at Ridgemon High, NationL Lampoons Vacation, St. Elmo’s Fire, Stripes. Just to name a few. :-). Have fun, I can’t wait to see them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

